Blueberries and Eggs? Oh my…

Yes.  I said blueberries and eggs. I’ll get to that in a minute.

This has been a busy weekend. We had company and I had to work today at our annual Open House. And today is now Sunday, or as I refer to it, Meal Prep Day.  Except today is more like a pajama and lazy day with the baseball game on TV while eating leftovers because I’m too tired today to cook.  Since I have the day off tomorrow,  Monday will be my Meal Prep Day for the week instead.

I was talking to someone about my blog today, and it was suggested that I include recipes. So in honor of what is normally Meal Prep Day, here goes.

As I have mentioned repeatedly, I am HOOKED on my cauliflower hash.  HOOKED!  I made it for breakfast today for our company and told them to trust me and go with it.  They loved it.  In fact, it’s what I had for dinner tonight. Seriously, when I find something I love, sometimes it’s just easy to make it my go to meal. Don’t judge.  I did add some blueberries to my hash tonight.  Let me just say  OMG.  It was an accidental discovery and it was delicious!  Don’t be afraid to try things. You might surprise yourself.

Cauliflower Hash

6 slices bacon

2 cups cauliflower

2 cloves garlic

1 tsp garlic powder

1 medium onion, diced

1 cup shredded Brussels sprouts

1 tbsp ghee

1 tsp salt

  1. Cook bacon in skillet over medium heat until crispy.  Remove from heat, let cool and then dice.
  2. In a separate skillet, melt ghee and then saute onions and garlic until onions are soft.
  3. Add cauliflower and Brussels sprouts, cooking over medium heat until tender.  Add salt, garlic powder and diced bacon and stir until combined.
  4. Serve with scrambled eggs or over-easy eggs on top

Tomorrow I’ll share my meal plan for the week. Stay tuned. And, remember, we are all busy and it’s ok to let good enough be good enough. Stick to your healthy eating plan as much as possible, make it as balanced as you can and give yourself a big pat on the back. We’ve got this!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

