Star struck in Costco

I started my weekend off on a good note with a run on one of my favorite trails.  I’m so lucky to live in a place with so many wonderful trails to run and be active.  And am equally lucky to be a member of such an awesome running community. The run was awesome but let’s get to the best part of my weekend – and it certainly wasn’t because of my Cubs.  Come on already and start playing like you want to win it!  But back on topic.  My awesome weekend…

As most of you should know by now, I’m a huge Danielle Walker/Against all Grain fan.  She has made such a positive impact on my life and the lives of millions of others.  If you are still on the fence as to whether or not clean eating makes a difference in your health, read her story.  I guarantee you will become a believer.  Anyway, about a month ago, I found out she was coming to our city on her book signing tour, and you bet I was going to make sure I could be there.  I wanted to thank her and have my book signed.  So, yesterday, I made the trip to our local Costco with my dear friend from childhood and my husband. And what sports they were because I had us get there about an hour and a half early as I had no idea what to expect line-wise.  Apparently I overshot so a couple of full Costco carts later, we were first in line.  Because, DUH. Of course we were!  It was fun waiting and chatting with other believers.  Danielle was absolutely as sweet as she appears in her videos and I was star struck and tongue tied but pretty sure I managed a thank you to her.  I think I didn’t sound like an idiot but, who really knows.  It’s all a blur.  I also purchased the new Whole 30 book by Melissa Hartwig.  She is my other new idol.  Guys, go to her web page: http://whole30.com/ She’s funny and tells it like it is.  No holds barred. Follow her on social media. Really, she’s awesome and has the best Snaps ever.  You can find her on Snapchat as hartwig_melissa. She’s also on Instagram.  Did I mention she’s hilarious?!!

Today is a wonderfully rainy day and I already have my grocery shopping done and ready to prep for the week.  What’s on the menu? This week we will be eating the hamburgers and potato salad, salmon and strawberry salad and Thai meatballs all from the Celebrations cookbook. We’ll also have the Applegate Farms apple sausage I get from Whole Foods.  My breakfasts will consist of me alternating between an  egg bake I’ll make today and a keto smoothie, and my lunches will be either leftovers, a keto smoothie or the chicken salad from the Celebrations cookbook.  What’s a keto smoothie you ask?  Well it’s a little bit of deliciousness – coconut milk, almond milk, unsweetened cocoa, honey, spinach, chia seeds, banana and almond or sunbutter.  Hey, don’t knock it until you try it. It’s like a chocolate milkshake in my book. And why and what is Keto?  It’s a diet that is VERY low in carbs and something my doctor has asked me to follow to help bring down the inflammation in my body and reduce the effects from this stupid prednisone taper and my RA, etc. And, I can still follow my Paleo eating and stay away from the other foods I can’t eat as well because she adapted the diet to meet my needs. (My disclaimer – please don’t go trying some new diet because I or someone else is doing it. Talk to your doctor first.)  She is also having me track my food through an app called Cronometer.  There’s lots on line about the Ketogenic diet.  Google it and see.  I’ll keep you posted on how my week goes. My poor family, friends and coworkers. A new diet and a prednisone taper.  I’m going to be pure rainbows and sunshine this week. Thank God I can still have coffee.  Otherwise, things could get really scary.  And just in time for Halloween too…

IMG_2689.JPG

One thought on “Star struck in Costco

Leave a Reply

