Satisfying a craving

Woo hoo! It’s official. After nine long years, I will take my last dose of prednisone next Thursday. I figure it will allow me to make it through what will be a very busy week next week and then give me the weekend to make it through the worst of it. And what is the worst of it? Kidney pain, stiff, painful joints, skin that hurts to the touch, cold chills so bad that I can’t warm up no matter what I try, and an exhaustion I just can’t begin to explain. And let’s not even talk about the mood swings. My family and close friends are the only ones who know how hard this has been on me because they are living it with me. And I love them for their patience and understanding.

In my last post, I mentioned how I’ve been craving buffalo wings – a big no no. Lucky for me I came across a recipe which helped with the craving.

Buffalo burgers:

1 lb ground chicken

1/4 cup diced celery

1/4 cup chopped red onion

1/4 cup grated carrots

3 tbs Frank’s hot sauce

Sauté veggies in 1 tablespoon coconut oil or ghee until soft. Add veggies and hot sauce to ground chicken and form parties. Add ghee to same pan used to sauté veggies and cook patties on medium heat until done. Serve on butter lettuce with sauce (1 tbs melted ghee with 1/4 cup hot sauce). If you can tolerate cheese you can also top with crumbled blue cheese.

Delicious! And nobody noticed the veggies I sneaked into the burger. I served our burgers with some leftover sweet potatoes from Thanksgiving and roasted Brussels sprouts.

Healthy, tasty and, most important, super easy! Enjoy!

image

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

