Christmas Eve

I spent the last eight hours in the kitchen, preparing for tomorrow. We are going to our daughter’s house and if I want to be able to eat something,  I need to bring it. I’m exhausted but it’s a good kind of exhausted. Not what I had been feeling. I’m now two weeks out from my last prednisone dose. And…. I’m ok! I had a few rough days but feel like I’ve finally come out the other side.  I even feel like my old self which is saying a lot, and am ready to get out and start training for my upcoming races. I think this was our family’s Christmas miracle. They got mom back.

So, what did I spend eight hours making today? Well, there were sticky buns for breakfast tomorrow, bacon jam for the roasted Brussels sprouts, cranberry sauce, stuffing, spinach/artichoke dip and a turkey. Plus I prepped artichokes, and oysters for our steak dinner tonight. And all of it is gluten, sugar and dairy free. The best part is that everything is delicious and I bet nobody will even notice the difference. I love experimenting and cooking this way. I think the coolest thing I made was Christmas fudge that’s like my dad’s and a GF version of my mom’s kiwi wine cake; a tradion in our family for years. So much about the holidays is tradition and that includes food as well. It’s a wonderful feeling knowing I can still have the the food I remember but a little different. And different doesn’t mean bad.

I wish you all a very Merry Christmas with your families. And enjoy all your food traditions. Cheers!

PS -everything I made today is out of the Celebrations cookbook so I can’t share the recipes. However, I can vouch for the fact it’s worth a purchase!

7a9ca28a-884d-408d-adeb-1b70a6bb0b2b

Leave a Reply

