Non Scale Victories

We get so caught up in the numbers; I get caught up in the numbers.  And by doing so, we set ourselves up for failure.  For me, this reset isn’t about the numbers on a scale.  It’s about feeling good about myself, having more energy, building up my stamina. The Whole30 program says to not look at your scale for 30 days.  Do you know how hard that is?  Of course you do.  But you know what?  They are right!  Since I started my reset, I’ve noticed my clothes fit better.  I FEEL better, more alert.  When my alarm goes off, I can now easily wake up and I want to go to the gym (ok, let’s be honest here.  While I did hop out of bed when my alarm went off this morning, it took about 5 minutes on the treadmill before I was awake and alert!).  It has been a while since I really felt my love for running.  I’m back to planning routes in my head and, more importantly, am having fun while I run.  These are the things I’m choosing to pay attention to this month.

It’s so important to find something you like whether it be walking, running, swimming…  Just do SOMETHING!  I belong to a Runners with Rheumatoid Arthritis support group and was talking with another member about her run today and how she felt bad because she had to run/walk.  I said so what.  A mile is a mile.  Period!  It doesn’t matter that she didn’t run the whole way.  What matters is she felt good enough to get up and move today.  Celebrate THAT and be kind to yourself.

This morning, it felt great to be back on my routine and I had a great run.  And what made it great was that I did it.  I felt good and had fun competing with myself to keep my mind occupied and pass the time.  And then I worked on strength training in the weight room.  After, I rewarded myself with time in the steam room.  The beauty of that was I was able to sit in total serenity and just be.  I never allow myself that time.  But I will from now on. 

This journey I have been on, especially this past year, has been amazing.  It was difficult and there were some days I didn’t think I was going to make it through.  But I did.  And I learned so much.  I’m so grateful for everything because last year changed my life for the better. Every single day is a gift.  What people think of me is something I no longer care about because it doesn’t matter. What matters is how I feel about myself.  And, right now, I feel pretty damn good.  That’s the biggest non scale victory of all.

So, don’t beat yourself up if you are struggling. Know that there are better days ahead and, if you are having a bad one, know that it will get better.  I promise.  Find something good in each day and celebrate that. If you just signed up for a gym and are nervous and feel self-conscious, know that’s normal and then let it go.  Everyone there is so wrapped up in what they are doing and probably feel the same as you. Just do your thing and be proud of yourself.  If a full Whole30 is too much of a change right now, then don’t do it.  Don’t set yourself up for another failure because you have to be fully ready to commit.  Instead, make one small change.  Cut out soda or coffee or, gasp, sugar.  Just one.  Do that for a month and I challenge you to see if that doesn’t make a huge difference in how you feel.  At the end of that month, celebrate your accomplishment and then choose another challenge for yourself.  And don’t stop there.  Keep challenging yourself.  Trust me. This is all doable stuff. Is it hard?  You bet.  Is it worth it?  Heck yeah it is! You CAN do it!  I promise.

non-scale

2 thoughts on “Non Scale Victories

Leave a Reply

