Remission

Remission: a diminution of the seriousness or intensity of disease or pain; a temporary recovery.

While I’ve come a long way this past year, I still have quite a way to go on my own journey. Although my APBA is in remission, my RA is not. And while I appear to be doing well, rest assured this arthritis thing sucks and it hurts. A lot. I’ve just learned to deal with it. I’m still working on lowering the inflammation levels in my body and lessening the pain and stiffness via natural means. I’m getting there, I’m just not there yet. This is a lifelong battle that some days I’m going to win and other days will not but a positive attitude is key. It’s amazing how powerful a positive attitude can be and that may be one of the biggest things I’ve learned on my journey. And the thing, I hope, which leads me to full remission.

I saw a quote today that read “apparently spite is not an appropriate answer to what motivates you?” And yet for me, in some ways it is. I hate so much the autoimmune crap I have to deal with that perhaps it is a motivator. I do what I do in spite of this illness. I am defiant because I want to be the victor in all of this. I have no idea how long before I’m completely symptom free or if I ever will be. However I’ve learned to value each day as a gift and will not squander another second wallowing in self pity. And if that isn’t defiance, I don’t know what is.

So I challenge you to be defiant, to be spiteful. To fight for your health. For your life. Fight against what ails you. We only have a finite time on this planet. Make your time here positive, make your time time count. For me, helping others, teaching others, being an example… That is how I fight. How will you fight? What will your legacy be? Where will your journey lead you. Open your mind and your heart and you will find your answer. I did.

img_3485

 

Leave a Reply

