Food, food and more food

I promised you a peek this week into what we eat, so here is a midweek snapshot. Again, remember I prepped everything over the weekend so now we can just grab and go or reheat. I was especially thankful for this last night, as I was able to go for a run when I got home from work and not worry about having to cook dinner.

Let me start with our brunch on Saturday- I made a veggie hash (cauliflower, shredded Brussels sprouts, diced red, yellow and green peppers, onion and garlic) with fried eggs and bacon.  A healthy and well-deserved meal after a six mile run. I was famished!

img_3520

 

On Sunday, a few favorites I prepped were “corn” bread, chocolate zucchini muffins and applesauce.  The “corn” bread is from Danielle Walker’s Celebrations cookbook and is gluten and corn free but tastes amazingly like the real thing.  I made the applesauce in my instant pot and I can never wait for it to cool down; I love it when it’s still warm. And I shared the recipe for the chocolate zucchini muffins with you on Sunday.  OMG they are so good and taste like a chocolate cupcake.  These are gluten, nut and dairy free and let me just say I’m in total love and, once again, my family is none the wiser!

 

We are early risers and are at the gym by 5 a.m. so need to have a portable breakfast to heat up.  I like making steel cut oats in my instant pot but I also make an egg bake every Sunday as well, filled with whatever veggies I have on hand and even add a diced sweet potato now and again.  Each week, the egg bake is a little different so we never grow tired of it.

img_3532

 

One of the things I prepped for the week was a giant batch of shredded buffalo chicken in my instant pot.  During the week it’ll be used in salads and GF street tacos.  I also made a batch of GF, dairy free ranch dressing using avocado mayo, coconut milk, dill, salt, onion powder, garlic powder and celery salt.

img_3558

 

The fried chicken meatballs?  They were a hit! Our granddaughter thought they were good chicken “nuggets.”  I served them with mashed sweet potato, homemade applesauce and a salad with the dijon mustard vinaigrette I make (honey, dijon mustard and champagne vinegar).  Also, note the gravy on the potatoes.  Instead of using flour as a thickener, I used arrowroot powder.  The stock was left over from the whole chicken I made and I seasoned it with some salt, a little pepper, sage and dill.

img_3526

One of my favorite finds was the crispy “swoodles” from Nom Nom Paleo.  I was craving a waffle and tried her experiment by adding one egg and then cooking in the waffle iron.  I was really craving a waffle and this not only took care of that craving, but it was fantastic.  I’m thinking I need to make a batch of these this weekend.

 

And finally, my dinner last night.  I went for a run after work so was again thankful to be able to quickly reheat.  Last night’s feast was chicken and apple sausage, “swoodles,” leftover green beans and my homemade applesauce.

img_3569

As you can see, we don’t eat cardboard.  Sometimes eating this way means having to be creative but creative doesn’t equal bad or tasteless. In fact, what we eat is quite the opposite of tasteless or weird.  Danielle Walker shared a video yesterday on her lasagna.( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=53urdKo55rA&t=6s ) I can’t wait to make that, as I’ve been craving her lasagna for a while.  Again, something I made for unsuspecting family and they practically licked the pan clean. I’ll keep sharing my meals with you and posting recipes and links.  I know you are wondering about snacks and what to do in the middle of the day when you are famished but know you shouldn’t hit the vending machine – because you shouldn’t. I always carry food with me and next time will share ways to beat that mid-afternoon slump.  Until then, happy eating.

2 thoughts on “Food, food and more food

    • It’s pretty surprising how well we eat. I wouldn’t have imagined before I went through all of this it was possible. I think we eat better now (taste-wise) than before I got sick.

      Like

Leave a Reply

