I’m a big, fat cheater

Yup, that’s right. I’m a big, fat cheater but that does not make me a failure; it makes me human.

I ate a cheeseburger last night – a big, fat juicy cheeseburger with bacon! And I own it. How do I feel after cheating? Exactly as I knew I would. My head is killing me because my sinuses acted up, I had breathing difficulties and my stomach was miserable. And it’ll be a long while before I do that again. However, the big takeaway here is I’m not spending my time beating myself up. I did it, I paid the consequences and I’m done. End of story. I was reminded there’s a reason I must eat the way I do and that reason was validated last night. And I’m ok with it. I like eating the way I do. Because I feel good when I follow the plan.

What led to the big cheeseburger cheating incident? Best as I can figure it was because I gave blood yesterday. Now let me start by saying that donating was a big deal for me. Giving blood represented good health. It meant I was finally healthy and strong enough to donate. And after I donated, I wanted a cheeseburger. So I had one. End of story.

There will be times you are going to make the wrong food choice. Learn from it and then let it go. You are not a bad person or a failure. You are human. The key here, however is that once you realize what you’ve done, don’t give up. Don’t say well I’ve already screwed up so what’s one more, etc. Don’t give in to that inner talk. Get right back on that horse and start over.   Immediately. Keep fighting. This is a daily battle and it’s not an easy one.  But you can do it. Your health depends on it.

img_3596

 

 

Leave a Reply

