Here we go again…

I’ve been a little quiet lately because there’s just been too much going on – I’ll get to that later…  I had planned to share Super Bowl snacks with everyone because that’s a day wrapped around food and can be tough when you are on a limited diet.  Tough, but not impossible.  In fact, we didn’t suffer one bit! It was just me and my husband, so I made guacamole and served with Taro chips and baby carrots, and then we ate ribs that I cooked in the instant pot with potato salad and artichokes also cooked in the instant pot.  All paleo, all delicious!  And, not mindlessly snacking the whole game didn’t even bother me. And what a game, huh? The potato salad was from Danielle Walker’s Celebrations cookbook https://www.amazon.com/Danielle-Walkers-Against-Grain-Celebrations/dp/1607749424 and I used the barbecue sauce from her blog: http://againstallgrain.com/2015/04/22/paleo-bbq-sauce/.  I cut up the ribs to fit in the instant pot and then seasoned with garlic powder, salt and pepper and then stacked on the tray in the pot.  I then added some BBQ sauce to the ribs, added the water to the bottom of the pot and cooked for about 20 minutes.  Then, I pulled the ribs out of the pot placed them on a cookie sheet lined with parchment, added some more BBQ sauce and put in the oven for 10 minutes on each side.  These ribs were so good and tasted like I had slow cooked them all day! For dessert, we had homemade applesauce with cinnamon that I made earlier in the day, again in my instant pot. Gosh, I can’t believe I went without this magical appliance for so long.

This week, meals have been easy because I made a large salad on Sunday, cooked up a bunch of chicken thighs, and made a giant meatloaf.  Yup, you guessed it, both in my instant pot.  I just add in fresh veggies during the week and, voila, yummy meals. What’s great about eating this way is that we don’t have much in the way of waste.  I noticed some yams and sweet potatoes that were either going to have to be used up or trashed.  So, I made hash and that has been the base of my breakfast all week.  It was also part of my dinner last night as I was craving an egg.  So, dinner consisted of crumbled meatloaf over the sweet potato hash with a fried egg on top.  Heaven on a plate, I say!  The meatloaf was an experiment so once I firm up the ingredients, I will share the recipe.  But, what I can tell you is it included bacon and BBQ sauce.  The only thing I love more than a fried egg is bacon.

So, now to what is going on.  By creating this blog, I committed to being totally open with my readers about what is going on with my health because I hope, through me, you can learn.  I mentioned a while back some redness I noticed on my right breast and how I was scared.  I’ve been down this road before about a year and a half ago before I got really ill.  The doctors were convinced I had Inflammatory Breast Cancer and my husband and I spent three months in Hell. I don’t wish that on anyone.  Fortunately for me, I finally responded to an antibiotic and whatever “it” was cleared up.  To this day we still aren’t completely sure what “it” was.  The Dr. said maybe MRSA or cellulitis but she was really just guessing. Shortly thereafter I became ill and it all went downhill from there.  Was this a warning of what was to come?  I don’t know.  I’ll never know.  However, here I sit all these months later, again with the same redness on my right breast. I, of all people, should know better about putting something like this off but I finally called the doctor and was seen yesterday.  He said he thinks it’s NOT an infection and requested an urgent mammogram.  Here we go again.  All those emotions I experienced before came flooding back and I was terrified.  What if they got it wrong last time?  What if all this time has been wasted when I could have received treatment?  If it’s not cancer, is this a warning my immune system again taking a dive? And, here we go again… After the mammogram, I had an ultrasound as well.  No lump but I do have some skin thickening and it was requested that I have a biopsy.  Today I’m in fight/anger mode.  I’ve been in remission for two, almost three months.  Really, couldn’t I just be healthy for a while?!! My head tells me to stay calm and that this is nothing but I very rarely listen to myself.

And I’m not telling you this for sympathy.  Although if you can say a little prayer for me, I sure won’t turn that down.  I tell you this for your own personal awareness.  Breast cancer doesn’t always appear as a lump.  Sometimes it’s dimpling or redness.  http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/inflammatory-breast-cancer/basics/definition/con-20035052  I beg of you, if you see something that seems strange, call your doctor.  Don’t wait.  You know your body better than anyone.  The odds are it probably isn’t cancer, however better to be sure and be treated right away. This goes for anything, really.  If you notice anything that seems strange, CALL YOUR DOCTOR!  This is YOUR life.  YOUR health.  Take charge.  Question your doctors.  It’s ok.  And by taking charge of your health, I mean not only asking questions but being smart about what you put in and on your body.  Read labels.  Be informed.  We have but this one life and it’s up to us to take care of ourselves. 

th

Leave a Reply

