A Doubting Lisa and the Flu

you-can

Sometimes, I feel I just can’t do this anymore.  And by “this” I mean all the work that goes into being healthy and well.  I know that I must continue if I want to stay in remission but it’s a daily struggle.  People praise me for my bravery and for making this seem so simple.  And the truth is I’ve learned to make it simple but it is still a daily battle.  Some days I long to be able to relax on Sunday instead of spending all day in the kitchen.  To be honest, there are days I despise all of this!  ALL of it.  And yet, what choice do I have?  So I chop and measure and plan because I have to.  And through all of this I still find my body reacting.  Causing problems.  Sometimes setting me back.  It’s not fair. And it’s hard and I question and I get angry.  And this is all normal.  I share all this because I want to be honest.  I want you or your loved one to succeed.  I want you to understand this is work.  It’s hard and some days it sucks but it is still 100 percent worth it in the end.  And if you don’t fully grasp this and accept it, you will not succeed at this.  You have to find that inner fight inside of you and learn to make this a habit and find ways to make this easier for you.  To not listen to that voice inside of you screaming “I can’t.” Because you can and you must if you want to heal yourself.

These past couple of weeks have been rough. I’ve been through a biopsy and a very anxious time waiting for results.  I’ve been told the doctors think this is autoimmune in nature and not cancer, but will watch me for a while to be sure.  What they can’t tell me is what type of autoimmune and why.  Because they don’t know.  And that’s maddening.  I initially thought: I do everything I’m asked, I eat healthy, I exercise, I take the supplements I’m told to take.  And it seems my body still hates me.  But the truth of the matter is even with this set back, I’m still in a MUCH better place than I was. My bloodwork looks great and my adrenals are actually working.  We weren’t sure they would kick in. And this week I’m battling the flu but, rather than my usual of declining rapidly, I’m getting better. My body is doing its job. So, what I’m doing – it DOES make a difference! I hope by keeping things honest and real, I can continue to be a mentor to people.  It’s important you know there is no magic fix.  That this is work.  It’s hard work and one has to be totally dedicated to it. And there will be blips along the way but it DOES work.

So, now that I’ve bared my soul, let me get back to sharing food and recipes.  My new favorite recipe is something I call Eggs Over Stuff, Drizzled with Stuff and is paleo fast food at its finest. Basically I’m cleaning out my fridge.   Leftover brussels sprouts, bacon, pulled pork and cauli rice warmed up and served with a fried egg and avocado on top and drizzled with compliant hot sauce and cilantro.  Best. Meal. Ever!

img_3936

And… if you have not yet done so.  Go buy that Instant Pot already!  This has revolutionized my meal prep abilities and cut that prep time IN HALF!!  IN HALF people!!!  I love that I can just take something frozen and have dinner ready in 17 minutes or less.  Follow my lead.  Some days will be harder than others.  Some days you will want to give up or feel that you can’t.  Trust in the process and that eating clean DOES work.  And know you CAN heal yourself through diet.  I will always keep it real for you because I don’t want you to feel alone or think this can’t be done.  Focus on the big picture and know it’s ok to have a pity party once in a while as I have done the last week or so.  The difference for me this time around is that I never got off track.  I may have questioned but I still stayed with the plan because even though it’s not always easy, I know it’s what’s best and it works. It really works.

Leave a Reply

