A Prednisone Rant!

Don’t worry, this isn’t a rant because I’m taking it again – because I’m not.  I belong to and follow a couple of Rheumatoid Arthritis groups and one of the groups was touting the miracle drug that is prednisone.  It made me angry. Now don’t get me wrong, there is a time and place for this drug but taking it long term should never be an option for anyone.  Ever.  The problem is that so many doctors disagree and prescribe it like crazy.  Never mind the awful side effects that come with long term use.  And, hey, let’s just take another pill to offset those side effects.  I was on that merry go round for a long time and then one day had enough.  There had to be another way.  And there was.  Thanks to my functional medicine doctor, I am now completely prednisone free and I feel GREAT!  Through diet, supplements and exercise, I’ve been able to lower my inflammation levels in my body.  My asthma is under control and, as long as I stay active, so is my RA.  (Yes, I have asthma and RA and I still run and work out with a trainer. Contrary to what some doctors say, it IS possible.)  And I feel better than I have in years WITHOUT prednisone. It kills me now when I see all those commercials for the various drugs they are advertising.  You know the ones I’m talking about where they go on and on about the horrendous side effects.  I watch and think to myself how so many of the ailments for which these medications are prescribed can be controlled by diet. And by diet, I don’t mean “dieting.”  I mean eating a clean diet.  Paying attention to what you put in your body.  Eating deliberately according to what your functional medicine doctor recommends for YOU and your needs.  Everything I eat, all the supplements I take – all of these things have a reason behind why I eat what I do. And these things are occasionally changed dependent upon the results from the regular testing I have done.    By following a clean diet and exercising, I have completely changed the course of my disease and am not dependent upon medications as I have been in the past.  It’s a wonderful thing!

Because of my diligence, I survived the flu. That my body did what it was supposed to and fought it off was amazing.  And while people have had the cough that seems to linger, I did not. I do however, have this sinus thing and I fear I may have to give in and take antibiotics but that’s the way it goes. I did find that, although I love my Navage sinus rinse machine, my Neilmed sinus rinse bottle seems to be doing a better job of flushing all the crud out so I’ve switched to that for now.  Again, more tweaks according to what is going in that moment.  If there’s one thing I have learned through all of this, it’s to be flexible.  To be patient (ok, who am I kidding?  More patient than usual…)

Because I believe so deeply in all of this, I continue to find ways to share my message and, I hope, to help people.  People have been asking and I’ve decided it’s time to write a cookbook. Now, I have absolutely no idea how to go about this but I feel I have much to share, I love to cook and want to teach others how to eat a paleo diet and not feel like they are missing out.  I decided this cookbook will be filled with comfort foods – chocolate pudding, mac and cheese, lasagna, chili… So, now I’ll be turning my kitchen into a laboratory and my family and coworkers will be having to taste test lots and lots of food. I’m hoping to make this book not only a cookbook, but a how to, so to speak.  How to eat paleo, how to convert your kitchen, how to meal prep…  The recipes will be a bonus. I hope. 

So, stay tuned.  I will be sharing all my mishaps and, I hope, successes with you and also hope to start sharing in my blog new products that I come across and think you may like. We are also all beginning to plan vacations (spring break, Memorial Day, Summer).  With a little planning, you can travel on a paleo diet and not feel deprived and I will show you how.  Stick with me.  We can do this together.

img_2399

Leave a Reply

