The Prednizone

Nope, not a typo. I’ve entered back into The Prednizone. Third day in and I’m exhausted. I haven’t slept in two days, I’m cranky and just so darn tired my eyes hurt. But I have to power through a few more days of this hell . Why did I give in and let them prescribe this to me? Well, it’s keeping me out of the hospital. That’s why. There will be times I must have a prednisone burst because of my asthma and ABPA, and this is just one of those times.

So, because I’m so wiped out from this trying to breathe thing, I’m making very simple meals, one that flows into another. Quick and not energy zapping. I bought cauliflower and sweet potato rice this week and have used it for breakfasts and dinners: under fried eggs, under a Hawaiian chicken patty and added to other leftovers. A little pop of color and it tastes great. We don’t waste food here so one meal is just repurposed into the next. Even breakfast can become a sweet potato and some leftover pulled pork with avocado. It’s using what you have and yet being creative. Last night, I took a sweet potato and then covered it with leftovers consisting of broccoli,  riced cauliflower and sweet potato, ham and apple sausage and then drizzled my dairy free ranch over the top; a simple meal that was pretty to look at and yet quick and filling.

Eating healthy doesn’t have to be difficult. I do all my prep work on Sundays so the rest of the week is a breeze. Heat and eat. And by repurposing leftovers, you are keeping things interesting and also not wasting food.  The key is to prep things on Sunday which can be worked together during the week.

My ranch dressing recipe:

1/4 cup avocado mayo

about three tablespoons of coconut milk or enough to get a ranch dressing consistency

1/4 tsp celery salt

1/4 tsp onion powder

1/2 -1 tsp dried dill (I like lots of dill)

small pinch of salt and pepper

mix until the consistency is smooth and this will last a week in your fridge.

Another tip is to take that small amount of   Dijon mustard you are about to throw away and add a little champagne vinegar and honey. Shake well and you have a nice vinegrette. Again, no waste.

Once you get the hang of repurposing meals, it gets easier. Honest. And if I can do it, so can you. So, what are you batch cooking this week and how will you turn those varied leftovers into meals?

Signing out from the Prednizone. Maybe I’ll get a nap today. Oh, who am I kidding?

IMG_4517

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

