Banana eggs?

I have two words for you. Banana eggs. That’s right. Banana eggs. Lately, I’ve been seeing an onslaught of recipes on various paleo sites, and decided it sounded so weird, I HAD to try it. And banana eggs are exactly what they sound like. And you know what? They are DELICIOUS!!! I challenged you to try a new food/recipe and thought I should follow my own advice. Plus, who wouldn’t be curious about banana eggs? Am I right? And if I’m being honest here, it was a lot healthier than the apple pie I really wanted for breakfast and tasted just like French toast. The recipe we used is below:

https://carrotsncake.com/2012/11/try-try-again.html

1404C631-D7A2-4528-960B-07934DD997B3

So, I’m still packed in ice and pillows. This whole pneumonia and separated rib thing stinks. My lungs are improving but the ribs are still excruciating. The only time I find relief is with an ice pack or the heating pad, and I spent most of the Fourth of July either with my feet propped up or in the horizontal position. What really sucks is I will be missing our nephew’s wedding because I’m not up to traveling a long distance yet. HUGE bummer. So, I will be the one having a pity party on the couch this weekend. But, as many of us who suffer from an autoimmune know, our bodies are oftentimes the enemy and our world is one of ups and downs. It’s just knowing how to navigate those down times and what to do so there are many more ups than downs.

With temps in the 90’s and 100’s these days, we have changed the types of meals we eat, and have moved to lighter fare. I shared last time how I discovered the blog “First and Full.”  We are hooked on her recipes. This week, my husband made the blackened shrimp salad and couldn’t believe how easy the recipe was. Give it a try:

https://firstandfull.com/blackened-shrimp-salad-with-mango-vinaigrette-whole30/

EABF4151-CFE6-42FE-B096-22C843CAA385

One of my other exciting discoveries is how easy it is to make your own paleo mayo. I mean, it takes no time at all. My husband was making his famous potato salad yesterday and we didn’t have enough mayo. Well, Michelle from “The Whole Smith’s” to the rescue!! It was super easy and tastes amazing. Plus, the ingredients are something I always have on hand.

https://www.thewholesmiths.com/2014/03/07/homemade-mayo/

I challenged you last time to try new things. And that challenge holds. Try a new recipe and comment on what you tried. If you come across a paleo recipe you feel is share-worthy, leave a comment and I’ll link and share in my next post. Going paleo can be a challenge but it’s not impossible. Be open to new ways of cooking. There is a whole, big paleo world out there, folks. And it needn’t be scary or difficult. What you will discover is that it is delicious. I promise!

Until next time,

-L

8E706A63-3545-4637-9271-78E3B5B0B99D

 

 

 

Leave a comment